19 Comments

Just finished "A Matter of Death and Life" by Irvin Yalom and Marilyn Yalom. Marilyn passed away in 2019. Before that, they co-wrote this book -- the chapters alternate between both. A fascinating and humane portrayal of how these accomplished scholars (both of them dealt with complicated philosophical and psychological matters over the years) looked at end of life. Highly recommend this. A nice review here: https://enchantedprose.com/a-matter-of-death-and-life/

From this book, I learned that Irvin Yalom wrote several novels. Currently reading, "The Spinoza problem". A fictional historical novel (based on lots of real world events) about a Nazi officer's interest in Spinoza. The story goes back and forth between Spinoza's time and WWII.

Expand full comment

I’m currently reading Bram Stoker’s ‘Dracula’ in honor of spooky season. But it might be more funny than spooky?!

I’m excited about a couple of books on my TBR but unsure which direction to go in next. I might do ‘I’m Trying to Reach You’ by Barbara Browning or ‘The Ballad of the Sad Cafe’ by Carson McCullers or ‘The Cabinet’ by Un-Su Kim.

I hear you about the burnout. Been feeling the same. Hope you get some downtime soon!

Expand full comment

Recently finished Kids in America: a Gen X Reckoning by Liz Prato. A hard look at hard experiences but an inviting read nonetheless. As Prato notes, a lot of things that get dealt with openly now weren't so much in the 80s & 90s, the formative years of Gen X. The book is memoir combined with stories of old high school classmates. The best essays in it will make you cry.

Expand full comment

I have a stack of stuff that I started at the same time, and now working through as my interest changes.

First, I’m halfway into Jade Legacy by Fonda Lee. I started it immediately after finishing Jade War, even though I told myself I needed to space it out. I’m obsessed! Fantasy novels covering decades of time are a weakness of mine.

For spooky season, I’m rereading the Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service. The omnibus volumes got reprinted, and I replaced my water damaged volume one. So good, so spooky, and it’s made me cry a couple of times. A joy to revisit.

After that, I gave Gotham Central, Queen and Country, A Gentleman’s Game, and Black Magick. I just got OBSESSED with Greg Rucka, it seems. Super pumped to get into those.

Expand full comment

I just finished Daisy Darker, an Agatha Christie inspired mystery. It is bonkers.

Expand full comment

I finished reading Agatha Arch is Afraid Of Everything by Kristin Bair. It was a lighthearted fun read. Last night I started The House Across the Lake by Riley Sager and I am already impressed by her writing skills. I can’t vouch for it to be spooky yet but it is a thriller and I’m expecting it to get spooked haha.

Expand full comment
Oct 17, 2022Liked by Ashley Holstrom

I’m reading “The Witches of Moonshyne Manor” by Bianca Marais. It’s a perfect light Halloween read with a strong plot and strong, vulnerable, loving, multifaceted, imperfect characters. I’ve been reading A LOT of contemporary witch novels lately, and to me they all felt very YA, very written-for-Netflix.

This one is very different, has a lot more depth and subtler humor. I’ll probably read it every October!

Expand full comment

I've just finished "Witches, witch-hunts and women" from Silvia Federici, but I prefer her original "The Caliban and the Witch"

Expand full comment

Hi! I'm reading Maria, Maria: & Other Stories by Marytza K. Rubio and its the perfect creepy, unknown shit type of book for spooky season!

Expand full comment

I’m currently reading Elif Batuman’s “The Idiot” and loving it, and also recently read “Everyone Knows Your Mother Is A Witch” by Rivka Galchen which was a fabulous witchy book, based on true people and events! Both authors are incredible writers, and both narratives feature sly, clever humor.

Expand full comment